The European Commission Decision 2009/750/EC of 8 October 2009 define European electronic toll service (EETS) and the elements required for implementation of Directive 2004/52/EC (the interoperability directive). The objective of the EETS decision is achieving interoperability of electronic tolling systems used throughout the Community, resulting in conclusion of a single contract between the users and the EETS provider and use of a single electronic tolling device in the future. 

Decision 2009/750/EC further stipulates that all Member States having or intending to introduce an electronic tolling system in their territory shall keep a national electronic register containing information on the roads covered by EETS, as well as the toll collection entities responsible for a certain area and on EETS providers (if any) having a toll collection contract with tolling entities and in particular on EETS providers registered in Member States.  

Directive 2004/52/EC
Decision of the European Commision 2009/750/EC

The Roads Act of July 2011, as subsequently amended in May 2013 (OG 54/13), in articles 10 to 15 align relevant provisions of the Republic of Croatia with the provisions of Directive 2004/52/EC and Decision fo the European Commission 2009/750/EC. 

In May 2013, the Ministry of Transport adopted the Ordinance on special conditions and technical requirements for European electronic toll service and elements of interoperability, with Article 8 stipulating that  “Hrvatske autoceste d.o.o.” and concession companies shall, within 5 years from the day of accession at the latest, fully comply with technical requirements of Article 4 and elements of interoperability referred to in Article 5 of the Ordinance and create conditions for conclusion of contracts with authorized EETS providers throughout the EU and for collection of tolls in the way envisaged by the Roads Act.

The above provisions constitute a legislative framework for ensuring interoperability at national level, and consequently for the European electronic toll service (EETS).

Roads Act OG 84/11 and OG 54/13 
Ordinance on special conditions and technical requirements for the European electronic toll service and elements of interoperability OG 74/13 

National Electronic Register for the European electronic toll service (EETS)
Pursuant to Article 19 of the Decision 2009/750/EC, Member States shall establish National Electronic Registers containing information on areas covered by electronic tolling system within their respective territories, as well as information on authorized EETS providers having the seat in a given Member State. 

Pursuant to Article 13 of the Road Act, the Croatian National EETS Register is kept by the Ministry of Maritime Affairs, Transport and Infrastructure of the Republic of Croatia. 
National Register is available to the public at

The National Register contains following information:

A) The EETS domain within the territory of the Republic of Croatia, including information on:
- relevant toll collection entities (Toll Chargers)
- tolling technologies employed
- toll context data (defining of the amounts of tolls collected) 
- the EETS domain Statement (statement on the scope of EETS)
- statements of relevant entities (“Hrvatske autoceste d.o.o.” and concessionaire companies) on the conditions of concluding contracts with EETS providers.

B) EETS providers registered in the Republic of Croatia.
      There are no registered EETS providers in the Republic of Croatia.

HAC  - EETS Domain
HAC - General Terms and Conditions for EETS Providers